Meet the Staff

Robert Kuttner

Robert Kuttner is co-founder and co-editor of The American Prospect, and professor at Brandeis University's Heller School. His latest book is Debtors' Prison: The Politics of Austerity Versus Possibility. He writes columns for The Huffington Post, The Boston Globe and the New York Times international edition. 

Paul Starr

Paul Starr is co-founder and co-editor of the The American Prospect. and professor of sociology and public affairs at Princeton University. A winner of the Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction and the Bancroft Prize in American history, he is the author of seven books, including most recently Remedy and Reaction: The Peculiar American Struggle over Heath Care Reform (Yale University Press, revised ed. 2013). Click here to read more about Starr.

Harold Meyerson

Harold Meyerson is the executive editor of The American ProspectHis email is

Gabrielle Gurley

Gabrielle Gurley is The American Prospect’s deputy editor. Her Twitter is @gurleygg, and her email is

Mary Parsons

Mary Parsons is the art director of The American Prospect. Her email is

Amanda Teuscher

Amanda Teuscher is The American Prospect's managing editor.

Sam Ross-Brown

Sam Ross-Brown is The American Prospect's associate editor. 

Justin Miller

 Justin Miller is a senior writing fellow for The American Prospect.

Manuel Madrid

Manuel Madrid is a writing fellow at The American Prospect

Kalena Thomhave

Kalena Thomhave is a writing fellow at the Prospect.

Eliza Newlin Carney

Eliza Newlin Carney is a weekly columnist at The American Prospect. Her email is


Adele M. Stan

Adele M. Stan is a columnist for The American Prospect. She is the winner of the 2017 Hillman Prize for Opinion & Analysis Journalism.

Paul Waldman

Paul Waldman is a weekly columnist and senior writer for The American Prospect. He also writes for the Plum Line blog at The Washington Post and The Week and is the author of Being Right is Not Enough: What Progressives Must Learn From Conservative Success.

Gershom Gorenberg

Gershom Gorenberg is a senior correspondent for The Prospect. He is the author of The Unmaking of Israel, of The Accidental Empire: Israel and the Birth of the Settlements, 1967-1977 and of The End of Days: Fundamentalism and the Struggle for the Temple Mount. He blogs at South Jerusalem. Follow @GershomG.

Amy Lambrecht

Amy Lambrecht is the publisher of The American Prospect. Her email is

Ed Connors

Ed Connors is director of business operations at The American Prospect, where he manages the business functions at the magazine. Ed can also be contacted about any advertising and marketing inquiries. Ed is former congressional reporter for the UPI Radio Network who covered many Washington beats during the 1980s and early 1990s before moving to the business side of the industry. His email is

Justin Spees

Justin Spees is the Development & Communications Manager at The American Prospect.

Stephen Whiteside

Stephen Whiteside is the Prospect's publishing assistant.


Jordan Ecker, Lia Russell, Victoria Sheridan

Contributing Editors
Spencer Ackerman, Marcia Angell, Gabriel Arana, Jamelle Bouie, Heather Boushey, Alan Brinkley, Eliza Newlin Carney, Jonathan Cohn, Ann Crittenden, David Dayen, Robert Dreyfus, Jeff Faux, Ann Friedman, Michelle Goldberg, Gershom Gorenberg, E.J. Graff, Bob Herbert, Arlie Hochschild, Christopher Jencks, Randall Kennedy, Chris Mooney, Bob Moser, Sarah Posner, Jedediah Purdy, Robert D. Putnam, Richard Rothstein, Adele M. Stan, Deborah A. Stone, Noy Thrupkaew, Michael Tomasky, Paul Waldman, Willian Julius Wilson, Matthew Yglesias

Board of Directors
Michael Stern (chairperson), Stephen B. Heintz (vice-chairperson)
Chuck Collins, Shanty Fry, Stanley Greenberg, Jacob Hacker, Robert Kuttner, Amy Marshall Lambrecht (ex-officio), Ronald B. Mincy, Miles Rapoport, Adele Simmons, Janet Shenk, Ganesh Sitaraman, William Spriggs, Paul Starr 

Robert B. Reich

Founding Sponsors: Kenneth J. Arrow, Daniel Bell (1919-2011), Kenneth B. Clark (1914-2005), Marian Wright Edelman, John Kenneth Galbraith (1908-2006), Sidney Harman (1918-2011), Irving Harris (1910-2004), Albert O. Hirschman, Harry Kahn (1917-1999), Charles Lindblom, Arthur M. Schlesinger Jr. (1917-2007), Fritz Stern, James Tobin (1918-2002), Frank Weil